Groundspeak App question

A place for those misc Geocaching related discussions that do not have their own topic.
(Please use the Off-Topic forurm if the discussion is not Geocaching related.)

Moderator: Steering Committee

User avatar
cheechgang
Obsessed Lvl Poster (3k+ posts)
Posts: 5707
Joined: Fri 2004-03-26, 00:00:00
Location: Monclova Township, OH

Groundspeak App question

Postby cheechgang » Thu 2015-08-20, 11:19:00

I am curious about the Geocaching App for Android.

I tried the Intro App (which is going to replace the paid app) and wonder if there is any way to filter out owned caches.
Image
Proud to be
Streak, GeoArt, Power Trail, and Lab Cache free

User avatar
TeamMina
Obsessed Lvl Poster (3k+ posts)
Posts: 5393
Joined: Thu 2007-11-01, 00:00:00
Location: Wauseon, Ohio

Re: Groundspeak App question

Postby TeamMina » Thu 2015-08-20, 13:50:44

We have the intro app on our iphones (to see what people complain about).

On the paid app, the "include my finds" slide adds/removes both caches you found, and those you own.
My guess is the developers didn't think anyone who already owned caches would use the intro version.
So the "hide my finds" slide doesn't affect owned caches because it doesn't think you own any.

Feel free to log your own caches as finds then. Seems like maybe anything goes.
Image

User avatar
cheechgang
Obsessed Lvl Poster (3k+ posts)
Posts: 5707
Joined: Fri 2004-03-26, 00:00:00
Location: Monclova Township, OH

Re: Groundspeak App question

Postby cheechgang » Thu 2015-08-20, 14:16:06

Thanks for the explanation.

I hope when they fully replace the paid app with what is currently the beginner app that they implement that feature. In the meantime I stick with the app I have been using. GPSr still is primary piece of equipment.
Image
Proud to be
Streak, GeoArt, Power Trail, and Lab Cache free


Return to “General Geocaching Related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests