Map base layers which have county boundaries on them

A place for those misc Geocaching related discussions that do not have their own topic.
(Please use the Off-Topic forurm if the discussion is not Geocaching related.)

Moderator: Steering Committee

Chaenorrhinum
Moderate Poster (50 - 99 posts)
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun 2012-11-18, 23:23:58

Map base layers which have county boundaries on them

Postby Chaenorrhinum » Wed 2015-08-05, 09:06:58

We were talking at the Meet n Eat last night about how to look for caches to fill in counties. Here's some more detail on doing that using Groundspeak:

There are several base layers (the background map/image) on the Groundspeak map that will help you fill in counties. To change base layers, click on the "stack of papers" icon in the upper right corner and click on a new option.
OpenStreetMap Default - purple dashed line at some zoom levels
OpenStreetMap German Style - green dashed line at some zoom levels
OpenStreetMap black and white - they're there, but hard to see if the county line is also a road or river (I find this base layer is difficult to use all around)
ESRI World StreetMap - grey dashed line at some zoom levels, and county names on either side of the line in some places
ESRI WorldTopoMap - grey dashed line at some zoom levels, county names along the line in some places
ESRI NatGeoWorldMap - solid grey line, somewhat heavier than county roads, but can be difficult to distinguish. County names in some places.

If you aren't seeing county boundaries, try zooming in. Then try filtering caches, if you think you're missing labels. The caches (obviously), street and stream names, and other map features are given priority over county name labels, and if there are a ton of caches on your map, they may completely eliminate county labels.

User avatar
Starkacher
Moderate Poster (50 - 99 posts)
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed 2012-01-25, 19:25:17

Re: Map base layers which have county boundaries on them

Postby Starkacher » Sun 2015-08-23, 04:04:42

GSAK has a county field that you can add to your view and a macro that fills in the county value for all rows in the filter or database. Then you can sort or filter by the county field.
Image

Chaenorrhinum
Moderate Poster (50 - 99 posts)
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun 2012-11-18, 23:23:58

Re: Map base layers which have county boundaries on them

Postby Chaenorrhinum » Mon 2015-08-24, 12:08:08

Starkacher wrote:GSAK has a county field that you can add to your view and a macro that fills in the county value for all rows in the filter or database. Then you can sort or filter by the county field.


That sounds like work... :wink:


Return to “General Geocaching Related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests